2016 IEDM Plenary Awards

The IEDM plenary session on Monday, December 5th is an opportunity to recognize several individuals for their outstanding work and contributions to the field of electron devices. In 2016 the awardees include:

IEDM Awards

2015 Roger A. Haken Best Student Paper Award presented to Xiao Yu  of the University of Tokyo, for the paper entitled, “Experimental Study on Carrier Transport Properties in Extremely-Thin Body Ge-on-Insulator (GOI) p-MOSFETs with GOI Thickness down to 2nm”.


EDS Paul Rappaport Award

To:        Stefano Ambrogio, Simone Balatti, Vincent McCaffrey, Daniel C. Wang, Daniele Ielmini

For the paper entitled:  “Noise-Induced Resistance Broadening in Resistive Switching Memory—Part I: Intrinsic Cell Behavior / Part II: Array Statistics”

EDS George E. Smith Award

To:        Xiaobing Mei, Wayne Yoshida, Mike Lange, Jane Lee, Joe Zhou, PoHsin Liu, Kevin Leong, Alex Zamora, Jose Padilla, Stephen Sarkozy, Richard Lai, William R. Deal

For the paper entitled:  “First Demonstration of Amplification at 1 THz Using 25nm InP High Electron Mobility Transistor Process”

2016 EDS Distinguished Service Award

 To:  Renuka P. Jindal

“To recognize and honor outstanding service to the Electron Devices Society”

2016 EDS Education Award

 To:  Hiroshi Iwai

“For providing high-quality engineering education for industry and academics worldwide”

2016 EDS J.J. Ebers Award

To:        Jaroslav Hynecek

“For the pioneering work and advancement of CCD and CMOS image sensor technologies”

EDS Celebrated Members Award

To:        Mildred Dresselhaus

“For fundamental contributions to the field of electron devices for the benefit of humanity”

2016 EDS PhD Fellowship

To:          Jiahao Kang, Hagyoul Bae, Chao-Yang (Michael) Chen

“To promote, recognize and support PhD level study and research within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest”

2016 EDS Early Career Award

To:   Nagarajan Raghavan

“To promote, recognize and support early career technical development within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest”

2016 IEEE/EDS Fellows

 *This is a complete listing of the 2016 IEEE/EDS Fellows.  Not all Fellows will be recognized at the 2016 IEDM.

 Eugenio Cantatore, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands

Chorng-Ping Chang, Applied Materials, Inc., Santa Clara, CA, USA

Gilles Dambrine, IEMN- Institute of Electronic, CNRS, France

Ananth Dodabalapur, Univeristy of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX, USA

Ravindranath Droopad, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX, USA

Mukta Farooq, IBM Corporation, Hopewell Jct, NY, USA

Patrick Fay, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, USA

Patrick French, TU Delft- Delft University of Technology, Delft, Netherlands

Tibor Grasser, Technische Universität Wien: TU Wien, Vienna, Austria

Mark Hersam, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA

Qing-An Huang, Southeast University, Nanjing, China

Adrian Ionescu, EPFL – École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland

Alvin Joseph, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

Jong Ho Lee, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea

Victor Lubecke, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI, USA

Jian-Guo Ma, Tianjin University, Tianjin, China

Souvik Mahapatra,  IIT- Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India

Sudip Mazumder, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA

Ellis Meng, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Ajay Poddar, Synergy Microwave Corporation, Paterson, NJ, USA

Leonard Register, The University Of Texas At Austin, Austin, TX, USA

Akira Toriumi, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Ernest Wu, IBM Microelectronics- Avent, Inc., Essex Junction, VT, USA